Register | Login

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jennifer Mattern 5 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Rakiah O.
    Participant

Yup, I’m a toddler in term of Freelance writing and blogging years! And this is my first “crawl” in the right direction.

Hi everyone,

My name’s Rakiah and this is my first tentative step towards establishing a freelance writing career.

I’ve had plenty of experience writing for peanuts (a content mills’ victim!) but now I thought enough was enough and decided to wade into the deeper and scary waters of Pro-Blogging.

As my first step I’ve been trying to soak up as much writing advice there is out there, and as my second I’ve been trying to get noticed as a professional writer (so far the second hasn’t worked out yet, but I’m adamant!)

So, that’s me. See you around everyone,

Rakiah O.

Jennifer Mattern
    Keymaster

Ahh! Well, at least you made your escape from the mills, right? ;)

Welcome to the community!

If you have questions or anything you’d like feedback on, you’re always welcome to post them here. :)

Best of luck in your new adventure as a professional blogger!

Jennifer Mattern - Owner 3 Beat Media

Professional Blogger, Freelance Business Writer, Author

Rakiah O.
    Participant

I haven’t completely escaped them yet.

Every morning I check my inbox in the hopes of finally getting a reply from this editor or that but, every morning so far has been disappointing. Then, every morning, the devil whispers in my ear “may be you should focus on the content mills, at least you had work!”

The day this thought stops creeping into my head, is the day I will consider myself completely free of the content mills.

Anyways, thanks for the warm welcome “Keymaster” ;)

Rakiah O.

P.S.: Where do I start creating my own kick-ass portfolio (keeping in mind that I simply have nothing to show for myself)?

Jennifer Mattern
    Keymaster