Register | Login

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Darryl Darryl 1 month, 1 week ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Darryl
    Darryl
    Participant

My name is Darryl. I’m 24 and I’ve started my path of freelance writing by creating a blog. My blog’s title is called Writing Prompts for Rookie Writers. The premise of this blog is to help aspiring/rookie writers including myself to become better writers. I’ve been writing for 13 years. It started off as writing for fun and a hobby. As of 2012 I’ve took my writing seriously by writing short stories and prompts. I’ve participated in 2 writing contests hosted by Writer’s Digest last year. Unfortunately I didn’t win both contests but it did help putting myself out there and gain some experience.

I love writing. My writing has gained praise from teachers during my high school years. During my attendance in college a few of my previous professors have noticed how well I write. I’ve took some time off college to better myself, although it has been an uphill slippery battle since 2011. I will be returning to school in the Fall if all goes well. Until then, I’ll start my freelance writing with my blog.

I have an Elance and an Odesk account(s) although I’ve read recently that it’s bad for freelance writers. I will cross that bridge when I get there. I’ve discovered this website from Writer’s Digest magazine during a trip to Barnes and Noble several months ago. I hope to work with everyone in this community for helpful advice and support. I realize that I won’t be coddled here. I’m going to have to work the bootstraps and take responsibilities from here on out.