Register | Login

This topic contains 13 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Emily F Emily F 1 month, 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Emily F
    Emily F
    Participant

Hello everyone, since I’ve just spent pretty much the entire day reading through these forums, I thought I’d pop in and introduce myself!

I’m still fairly new to the world of freelance writing, I’ve been doing it for just over a year, but there’s still so much to learn. I wish I’d have found this site earlier, a lot of the info in the Freelance Writing section I’d already gleaned from other sources over the last 12 months, but I also found some really useful gems, and if I’d have read it all when I started I would have saved myself a lot of time. Great site, and great forums :o)

I started out on the dreaded content mills and the such like, just for some extra ‘pocket money’, and was never expecting to end up going for it full time. But I ended up getting the bug and moving on to better things, and it just snowballed to be honest. I had a day job, but it got to the point where I had no time for my creative writing, no time for my boyfriend and no time for myself! Something had to give . . . and it was my corporate day job!

So, I’m just starting to really market myself, I’ve just set up my website (I know, I know, should have done it a long time ago!) and my plan is to get higher paying clients with the aim of working less hours. I already work less hours freelancing than I did at my day job, for roughly the same money, sometimes more, and another cut in hours would be perfect.

Obviously my friends and family absolutely rave about my website (they have to!), and my current clients have good things to say – but I know it’s a work in progress. If anyone did have any constructive criticism it would be taken in a gracious, and appreciative, way.

I look forward to joining in more with this fantastic community!

Jennifer Mattern
    Keymaster