Register | Login

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Jennifer Mattern 6 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Lawrence Ipsum
    Participant

It’s a bit confusing that this site keeps saying to log in after I’ve logged in. Well, I’ll just try to post and see what happens.

I’m a semi-retired software developer looking to do freelance writing on the Web. I’ve written before, but it was many years ago, when this whole online freelance infrastructure and business model didn’t exist. I’m a newbie to the mechanics of writing on the Web.

My interests: true stories and fiction, both with controversial themes. I intend to use pseudonyms. I’ve written on technical subjects, and I’m not categorically opposed to doing some of that again, but I want variety.

I’ve never written for the Web.

Jennifer Mattern
    Keymaster

Sorry you’re having trouble on the site. I’ve been running maintenance and upgrades, including to the forum area, so you might have come in while a change was processing. I’m also coming across and fixing a few script issues after recent script optimizations, so that might also be related. I’ll check into it and make sure the caching system isn’t messing with the forum access.

I know someone else had this problem previously but it was resolved with some of the recent updates. Can you tell me where it’s asking you to log in again when you’ve already logged in. I’m not able to replicate the issue with my subscriber-level test account. Also, what browser are you using to access the site? I’m happy to look into it if you can give me some details on the error you’re getting.

Other than that, welcome to the community! I’m sure you’ll adapt to writing for the Web just fine. :)  Here’s a post I wrote for bloggers which covers Web writing formatting basics. Once you get used to writing in a “scannable” way, you can adapt to writing for pretty much any audience online. :)