Register | Login

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jennifer Mattern 4 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

bhuggins
    Participant

I am not a young man, but I am new to writing as a business.   With that in mind,  what is the first thing a prospective freelancer should do?   I know everyone is different, but I just need some guidance on that first step.  My problem has always been starting…anything!   I see so much advice and so many how to books and blog posts that  I freeze up.  It’s just overwhelming, particularly if you dwell in the land of ADD.  All that information should be useful, but instead it becomes frightening.

LoriWidmer
    Participant

Welcome to freelancing. :)

The question is a common one, and it’s not easy to answer. So let me do my best. And know that every writer is going to give you a different answer. Take the advice that resonates best. Only you know what will work for you.

Start simply. You’re not just writing — you’re starting a business. But that doesn’t mean you have to complicate things. Every business needs a few things: clients and a way to get them. There are other things, but they come later. For now, you need work.

Ignore any advice that suggests “Write what you know.” That’s too limiting. Instead, write about what strikes your fancy. Today it could be technology. Tomorrow it could be healthcare. If something catches your eye, explore it. This job is nothing if not great for those of us with ADD. :)